Courageous Profile – Kevin Adam Curtis

We’re proud to spotlight Adam Curtis to kick off our new series: Courageous Profiles. We’ll be focusing on some of the people (artists, investigators and muckrakers) who dare to show us how to greater understand our world. Along with each profile in the series, we’ll separately review each of their important works in our “Interesting” section.

Kevin Adam Curtis

If there has been one man in the current era to try and shine a light on the who, what and why of modern life it’s Kevin Adam Curtis. Best known as simply Adam Curtis, Adam is a unique journalist and filmmaker who works with and in the archives of the BBC. His voice is important one, and his chosen subject matter has been focused on trying to make sense of the chaos going on around us. He does this with an amazing ability to review and digest untold hours of video footage to produce illuminating and revelatory documentaries.

Born on May 26, 1955 in Dartford, Kent, England, he studied at Oxford, graduating with a degree in human sciences. He pushed on the get a PhD, but dropped out after becoming disillusioned with academia.

He soon began working for the British Broadcasting Corporation in film and he career was off an running. You can listen to an interview with him here and we’ll be showcasing some of his films over the coming months.

adam curtis the medium and the message


1983     Just Another Day: Selfridges
1983     Just Another Day: The Seaside
1983     Trumpets and Typewriters: A History of War Reporting
1984     Inquiry: The Great British Housing Disaster
1984     Italians: The Mayor of Montemilone
1984     The Cost of Treachery
1987     40 Minutes: Bombay Hotel
1988     An Ocean Apart
1989     40 Minutes: The Kingdom of Fun
1989     Inside Story: The Road to Terror
1992     Pandora’s Box
1995     The Living Dead
1996     Inside Story Special: £830,000,000 – Nick Leeson and the Fall of the House of Barings
1997     Modern Times: The Way of All Flesh
1999     The Mayfair Set
2002     The Century of the Self
2004     The Power of Nightmares]
2007     The Trap: What Happened to our Dream of Freedom
2007     The Rise and Fall of the TV Journalist
2009     Oh Dearism
2009     It Felt Like a Kiss[
2010     Paranoia and Moral Panics
2011     All Watched Over By Machines of Loving Grace
2011     Every Day is Like Sunday
2013     Everything is Going According to Plan (Massive Attack v Adam Curtis)
2014     Oh Dearism II
2015     Bitter Lake
2016     Living in an Unreal World
2016     HyperNormalisation